G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
245 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm very close to my first run with my Aster P8 (BR38). Since I'm new to alcohol firing, it was time to test wicks today.

I compared steel wool versus the ceramic felt (fiberglass) that Aster usually provides as insulation, and for the P8 as wick-material.

What I learned, is that they perform equally, but the steel wool is much more difficult to light up to begin with. So I will go with the ceramic felt.

Also (1) Wicks must be "fluffy" enough, to let air pass down in the wick holder (so new alcohol can flow).
(2) Wicks should stick up quite a bit out of the burner (or the flame will be smaller, of course), like 8mm

#000 steel wool, is probably slightly on the coarse side, wich impairs capillary action. So in comparison with the ceramic felt, you need to slightly stuff the burners, for them to get enough alcohol transported to the top. With the felt on the other hand, you can just put a few  pieces in, with space in between them.

I had prepared some photos here, but I guess that possibility has disappeared in the new forum?!?

·
Premium Member
144 Posts
Hi,

I'm a bit confused :confused: the ceramic felt (fiberglass) in the Aster kits are for insulation not for wicks why are you not using the wicks supplied in the kit that look like pipe cleaners?

Tony

·
Premium Member
245 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Jeff, I have read that! I just haven't got any stainless mesh, but in another thread, an IKEA "splatter-lid" from the kitchen department, has been suggested! ;-)

·
Premium Member
420 Posts
Jeff - the firebox is enclosed and different than a mike or berk. I helped run one last year at DH. Its closer to a daylight than what we normally run. That is probably why Aster used the wick material they did. It ran well. I would not think the mesh would be an improvement as the tank and boiler are small and you need to stop anyway.

John

·
Premium Member