G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 108 Posts

·
Super Modulator
20,510 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First: I had to choose where this thread went. The New Aristo "Train Engineer Revolution" is NOT battery power!

It's an on-board system that draws power from the tracks and receives digital radio signals.

So not battery and digital made me think this thread belongs on the digital control thread, not the battery thread.

I have to say the "45 Great reasons" that I will love the new Aristo TE system, were interesting, some very good points, some questionable, and some of them had me rolling on the floor laughing.

I have a degree in Physics, so when I read: "The speed of the R/F (radio/frequency) transmission is several hundreds of times faster than the speed of a carrier signal through a track system"

(which I interpret saying radio waves in the air are faster than electrical signals in metal) .... I have to take exception, both move at the speed of light.

Of course if you interpret it that just because the carrier frequency is 2.4 GHz that makes the speed of the commands faster than DCC.... well, you need to look at the REAL speed of the command, the actual data, not the raw "bit rate"... this is of course way over the head of most people, but most cases, you will see that a command is either repeated or has a lot of extra overhead, because ANY wireless interface has more errors than a WIRED one.

(Your 100 base T Ethernet cable moves data over 4 times as fast as your "100 megabit wireless N system" because there has to be so much extra error correction "in the air".

Anyway, back to reality

The new system is coming, and information has been given out to many, so what do you think of this new system?

(for example that it has no interface to a sound system, like AirWire)

Regards, Greg

·
Premium Member
2,525 Posts
RE: What's your "take" on the new Aristo system?

Hi Greg.

Where can one find the "specifications"?

·
Premium Member
5,620 Posts