G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the hobby, about to finish my first layout. I have inherited an Aristocraft "Ultima" power supply, which should be enough to power my one train (Aristo RS-3) and ten cars on a 150 foot loop (I hope). However, there is no speed control (rheostat or whatever), so how do I vary the speed of my train? I don't really want to fool with remote control, since I suspect I'll have enough on my plate just getting the thing up and running, so a simple solution would be best.

Thanks
Rb Whale

·
Premium Member
4,716 Posts
I'd go for the Aristo "trackside TE."

·
Registered
3,521 Posts
Posted By rbwhale on 09/15/2008 11:32 AM
I don't really want to fool with remote control, since I suspect I'll have enough on my plate just getting the thing up and running, so a simple solution would be best.
Thanks
Rb Whale

This is the 10-amp throttle designed by AristoCraft to work with your Ultima. It is a "hard wired" unit and is cheaper than the remote Train Engineer mentioned by others.

But by all means, do consider the remote trackside Train Engineer if you have the funds. The convenience of having a wireless remote can be priceless.
This is a typical situation:
Your train derails. You shut off the power and walk over to put it back on the track. Then you walk back over to the throttle and turn it on and start moving. But then you notice that you missed the other wheel that also came off the track. So you shut it down and walk over and put that one back on the track. Then you walk back over to the throttle and ...
With a remote, you carry it with you to the derailed train. You put the train on the track and push the button on the wireless and the train starts moving, then you notice the other wheel, so you push the button off on the the wireless and put that wheel on, etc.