G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
585 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have decided to host an informal get together of anyone from the western North and South Carolina area. It will be held on Saturday, October 4, 2008. The time will be between 12 noon and 4 PM. I'm located just 2 miles north of Hendersonville, NC on route 191.
I will send directions to those who reply.

This get together is designed to provide an opportunity to get to know those in the area and to sit down and talk about largescale railroading. I'm just beginning my new railroad but I will have a large loop (20 ' x 50') of track down for those who wish to bring something to run. The track will be powered but battery guys and live steamers are welcome to run also. I'll have two 16' - 20' sidings available for car storage. The minimum radius on the loop will be 10 ft. and the turnouts are all #6's.

If you'd rather not run, then bring something for show & tell.

I know this is short notice but I needed to be sure that a couple of the guys who live close by could make it.

If the weather isn't conducive to running trains, we can still meet inside and talk.

Doc

·
Premium Member
32 Posts
Hey Thanks Doc for taking the Bull by the Horns, I plan on attending.
I’ll be bringing my two Steamers and some cars.

Thanks again,
Jeff

·
Premium Member
585 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Matthew,

Sorry you can't make it. I know it'is a relatively long way to drive and the fuel shortages don't help either. We'll see how this first meet goes. I'm hoping that some of the others will also volunteer to be hosts of future get togethers. It appears that some have pretty nice layouts. I'd sure like to see them. I'm not sure how the others will feel about forming an "informal" club.

Thanks for the offer.

Doc

·
Premium Member
32 Posts
I think a great day was had by all at Doc’s house. He is a gracious host and has the beginning of a great layout.
Thanks Doc!