G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I am an old newbie, in other words, I have been purchasing my track and rolling stock over several years and have been following the forums but have not put anything on the ground yet (hopefully spring of '09). I have a mix of Aristo and USAT brass euro track which I have bought new over the last seven years. I have read that some Aristo track was produced without the UV additive. One of my many questions (of coarse there will be more questions in the future) is if anyone knows if USAT uses a UV additive and has anyone had any problems with the USAT track breaking down in the sun? I live in Rhode Island and I have not come accross many large scalers in the area.

P.S. I wasn't sure if I should have put this on the track page or the beginers forums.

Thanks in advance
Steve

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
Welcome Steve. Posting your question in the appropriate forum is always a good idea. There are a few "beginners" there who have been at it longer than I have.
I believe the bad batch of Aristo track dates back to about five or more years ago. Ties started falling apart in the sun after a few years. I don't think it was a matter of no additive versus a bad batch of the UV inhibitor. Most track newer than that should not be problematic. If it is, Aristo has a lifetime replacement policy on their ties. I have not heard of anyone having a similar problem with USAT track.

-Brian

·
Premium Member
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply Brian.
Hopefully I won't have any issues. I sent an email to USAT asking about their warranty (if any) but I have not yet gotten a response.
Steve

·
Super Modulator
21,214 Posts
USAT track has been pretty consistent, and seems to hold up well in the sun. Aristo has had poor UV resistance on and off over the years.