G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
926 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm gonna act like a complete newbie and ask the obvious: how can I build or buy a trestle that won't cost an arm and a leg? For years, I had fantasized that when the tile came to lay track in my backyard, I would buy me a couple of Bridgemasters ready-made trestle sections and go to town. Then, after my wife cleaned up the area where my trestle was to go, I set up a half circle of 8-foot diameter Aristo curved track, counted the number of pieces I'd need and came to a heart-stopping conclusion: unless my math is wrong, at $89 per section I would need to shell out $712 for my trestle! Now I'm no skinflint, but when you consider all the other stuff I'll need, 700 large is gonna hurt. So what to do? I don't want to buy a lot of redwood, a nailer, build a jig, and then spend the same amount of money on "parts" that I would have expended just buying the dang thing. Plus I could always hurt myself. Or should I just build an earthen berm and forget about a trestle?

·
Premium Member
1,704 Posts
I made my trestle cheap out of ripping recycled cedar fencing. Even if you have to buy it at Depot or Lowes it's pretty cheap. I used glue, no nailer. I built the jig from some partical board I had laying around and used some cedar strips as the jig guides.

So if you have a table saw that's what I'd recommend. And if you don't, you might consider one, not for just this project but for all those buildings I've seen you build :) Another possibility is to rent a saw or go to a wood shop that would let you use theirs.

There are places that sell kits, like Garden Texture.

A berm? Nothing like the look of a trestle ;-)

·
Premium Member
1,687 Posts