G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first post to this forum.  I am a newbie to G scale, having just bought two Bachmann Big Hauler sets as clearance items at Hobby Lobby.  I bought these to set up on our patio when my grandsons come to visit.   I like the way these engines run and especially like the steam chug sounds.  I’d like to add a whistle sound (and possibly the bell also) to these engines.  My question is:  Is there a commercially available electronic module that will add these sounds without going to a digitally controlled system?  I’d prefer a “plug & play” module that uses the conventional power supply system that came with these sets.  Any ideas or advice will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance for any help.
Jim

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
No Plug-n-Play on the Big Haulers, Snip-n-Solder, maybe  /DesktopModules/NTForums/themes/mls/emoticons/hehe.gif. You could add a seperate steam whistle card  from ITT - ittproducts.com/hqpage_2008.htm . They have 6 different whistles with #3 and 4 sounding the most prototypic to me.  Use a reed switch and track magnet to activate it

-Brian

G

·
Hi Jim, Welcome into the world of Large Scale Trains!:)

Nothing P-n-P that I am aware of either...though there are a few nice inexpensive options avail..

Small Scale Sound has been touted here and there...the dealer will install for you I believe!

the Dallee is a nice econ choice!  Call him, he can play the sounds over the phone-no samples online /DesktopModules/NTForums/themes/mls/emoticons/sad.gif

and the Sierra Soundtraxx works well-click for sound samples...for some reason this product is getting a little harder to find

oh, and if you could find one the LGB Steam is equally loved!