G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all

I'm new to the train world, boy what an exciting hobby. I have a question, I live on 5 acres and I'm planning on my first layout. Most of the property has some slope to it. I've seen some of your web sites showing layouts on hills, they look amazing. Now my question is how you switch back the layout when you run out of room while going in one direction??? You obviously need to gain or loose elevation but how do you recommend doing this and keep within 2-3% slope on the track???
I do have a small excavator and bobcat so creating tunnels back in the slope is possible. Any help would be much appreciated as I can't visualize the layout at this point.

Thanks again
Jamie

·
Premium Member
4,235 Posts
You have ask a reasonable question, but inorder to answer it we need some additional information.

You mention switchbacks,  they are very useful in 1:1, but managing them in minature is not that simple.  If you look up the Monarch subdivision of the D&RGW  you will see how they worked in real life.  you need a brakeman at each end of the train to throw the switches, depending on where you live making this automatic could be easy or complicated.   Heavy rain has a way of messing up switches.

But back to your problem.  Without pictures or a site map it is almost impossible for us to give you much advise.  For instance can you build a terrace and cut an fill behind it?  Is it possible to  cut and fill at each end of a segment, as on the nose of a hill,  with large return curves at each end?  There are a lot of options, but we need to see what you are up against. 

Years ago when I lived in Denver, I used a cog railroad to connect two parts of my layout that were separated by 2 feet.  Anything is possible, but more information is necessary.

Cheers,

Chuck N

·
Premium Member
631 Posts