1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So basically I want to go from this:

to this:
http://www.rrpicturearchives.net/pictures%5C14275%5Cscan6180.jpg
(image changed to link - exceeds 640 pixel max. width -K)

I'm not entirely sure i trust myself with this project ( basically destroying a perfectly good Dash 9!) but it would more than likely be one **** of a project if i did it and prolly end up in alot of pieces never done.

It looks like to do this right id need to: Add marker lights, rework the fuel tank, new trucks( prolly get away with new sideframes), numberboards moved down, headlight moved up, ditchlights should be lower and who knows what im missing, not to mention the repaint.

Does anyone know anyone that would do such a project?? I know theres alot of custom painters out there and kitbashers but thats kinda something Im not really good at and I've tried quite a bit at it! Any help or ideas are appreciated.

·
Master of Disaster
867 Posts
Not much difference between diesels sometimes that set them apart unless it is a drastic change like the GP-9, and E-8, FA-1..or maybe cause I'm not a diesel man also?

Viva la narrow gauge!

Bubba

·
Premium Member
131 Posts
Hey Kevin,

The CR -8 is my favorite loco! So, I bought 6 undec -9s to convert :)" border=0> I started cutting up 3 of them atleast a year ago, but haven't had much time to work on anything lately. Although, last month I did make some rubber molds of some of the body parts to replicate and move around. And I ordered an Atlas HO scale CR -8 with QSI sound in it to play around with, which is a really well detailed and accurate loco.

Anyway, these are the changes I plan on making off the top of my head:
I cut out atleast an inch in the frame and body as the -8 is a few feet shorter, will lower the frame atleast 0.2" to get rid of the high stance look and add the frame I-beams to help fill in the gaps above the trucks.