G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

· Premium Member
616 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I've been delaying the inevitable for over 5 years now. I always said I would get around to stringing lines on all my telephone poles but because it's so fussy and time consuming I always said I was waiting for scenery to be completed. That was years ago so...
Now it's nearly all finished. Except in a small location where there is actually scenery to do and another place where I still have to hook into sewer (about a year from now) I have put up the appropriate lines.

Already they're in the way. $#^*^!#@&

I have to learn real fast not to put my hands through the lines when working.

Would anyone here go ahead with this or am I the crazy one?

Dave

· Premium Member
1,845 Posts
Posted By dawinter on 11/13/2008 1:04 PM

Some of the coolest stuff in history was done by borderline crazy people. I think it looks great!

· Premium Member
616 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
My own line got me started on this....
http://wvrr.ca/prototype/photo_65.htm

I think outside would cause a lot more problems than indoors. For one thing, people have to walk to the trouble spots. At the same time I will have to learn to get my cars in/out of trouble by rail whenever I can. Hmmmm. What a concept!

We'll see how this pans out over time.

Dave

· Premium Member
5,578 Posts
Keep the telephone and electric wires in the background, against hills and rear scenery, as well as doing very little of it, would probably be best. Often, just hinting at the existence of some aspect of decoration is best. We all know that in the real world the lines were strung all over, but having just a couple of poles at strategic locations can make the viewer think they are in more places than you really have them and reduce the problems of getting around them for garden RR maintenance.

G

·
Posted By jimtyp on 11/13/2008 1:11 PM
Posted By dawinter on 11/13/2008 1:04 PM