G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I’m working on building a holding yard for trains.   Some of my trains require a minimum of 8’ diameter curves.  I have been told that LGB switches were best but they have become hard to find.  I found Aristo 10’ switches.  Are the good to run or should I stay away from them?  I have no corners tighter than 10’ on my mainline.

Thanks

·
Premium Member
1,702 Posts
I've heard they are not that good, but I have no personal experience. I'm getting ready to put in a couple of switches and I've heard the USA Trains are good. I'm primarily considering the Parker Co. and Outback.

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
I only have the Aristo wide radius switches (13 of them) on my layout and have been pretty happy with them. Beyond the iniitial grinding out the frog to make it deeper they work pretty well. The only problem I have had is the slider (since removed) on a USA dismal causing a short when moving slow. At half the price of most #6 switches, they are good bang for the buck.

-Brian

·
Senior JOAT
736 Posts
There's a review of the Switchcrafters switch in the upcoming Garden Railways.

I ordered a couple of #6 and one #8 from him last year in code 250 aluminum.  They are very nice.

Here's a shot of the frog:

And a shot of the points:

The ties are made from some sort of composite.  The rails came painted.  

I've been very pleased with them.

·
Premium Member
687 Posts
Although most folks seem to prefer the LGB switches, on the IPP&W ( see www.ovgrs.org ), all the LGB switches have been taken out of mainline service and replaced by Aristo switches mostly the wide radius ones.