G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am new to HO scale and was wondering If I should get a engine and track separate with power supply or should I get a starter set? Can you recommend some starter sets under 500 dollars. I was also wondering, is there a way to run Marklin AC in the US where I live?

Thank you, Klaus

· Premium Member
3,159 Posts
Klaus,
Welcome to MLS, but the L refers to Larger scales, so I'm not sure that you will find much help here for HO.
I would look for an HO forum to help you, or maybe there is a Marklin one.
All the best with your hobby,
David Leech, Canada

· Registered
20 Posts
Hi all, just got my first train in the mail today. It's a Bachmann "Big Haulers" or G Scale "Wonderland Flyer" set. It came with an Engine, Tender, Passenger car, and two sort of cargo cars (I'm not familiar with the lingo yet). Also came with a bunch of a bit rusty track and the controller. The engine looks weathered or used but it is so pretty. Way heavier than I thought it would be! 250$ shipped and based on what I've seen online that seems to be a pretty good price. What I'm looking for is a thread on here that talks about this Wonderland Flyer set. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I'm curious about when it was made, how does the sound work or where is it, what do I do for the smoke ability...if it has it, and any other info I can find? It didn't come with directions which sucks. I haven't tried firing it up yet since I haven't had time so I'm not even sure it works, but the guy on the internet selling it said it works great and the internet never lies.
Anyways, thanks for any tips. I did see I need to Oil it, but I only have White Lithium and WD-40 that I use on my RC's.

· Registered
169 Posts
Bachmann used a 9 volt on the bottom of the passenger car for the 2 lights inside.