G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
While taking down my Christmas train, I noticed fine metal shavings on the track, accompanied by a black sludge-like dust in spots. What do you think is going on? I ran 3-4 different engines and am now checking those out.

·
Registered
47 Posts
The black sludge is probably from arcing between rails and wheels/pickups.
At least that's what I have in my dry but dusty location.
Wiping down the rails or if they are corroded getting them shiny helps
Metal shavings is a lot more concerning. A bit more inspecting necessary.
What locomotives are they?

·
Super Modulator
21,789 Posts
metal shavings, are wear, ask anyone who has a display layout in a store and how the railhead sides get worn off.

the black greasy stuff is actually oxidized metal, from the arcing caused by track power... big controversy, and some years ago Chuck and I studied this, and he submitted the stuff to a lab, and the spectral analysis confirmed tin and copper in the same proportions as his brass rail. Almost all metal when oxidized (the arcing) turns black.

Greg

·
Premium Member
4,180 Posts
I have found some wheels too far apart on the axles, esp some USA Trains axle sets. I place them in my vise and 'squeeze' then together slightly. I do not even have to remove them from the trucks using the vice. How to tell? Place an axle on a piece of track and try to move sideways. Some wheel sets do not move at all, LGB axles move a lot. Of course a wheel guage would be helpful here as well.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The black sludge is probably from arcing between rails and wheels/pickups.
At least that's what I have in my dry but dusty location.
Wiping down the rails or if they are corroded getting them shiny helps
Metal shavings is a lot more concerning. A bit more inspecting necessary.
What locomotives are they?