G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Building a station from Garden Texture plans. Decided to make shingles from beer cans due to budget restrictions and afraid wood shingles wouldn't hold up outdoors because they are so thin.
Got one section of roof done. Painted it with flat exterior latex for a base coat, it looks really good.

Cut ends off off cans split and flattened them as well as I could, then cut them into 3/8" strips. Cut 1/4" notches in strips with scissors and glued them on to sub-base with Liquid Nails adhesive. This is probably a slow tedious way to shingle a roof, but the result looks great.

This is my first building for out doors, so I'm learning as I go. Hope to post pics when I get some.

Does anyone know what they use to print the labels on beer cans? They appear to be painted or lithographed, do they have a top coat over the design ?  I'm wondering if latex paint will stick or eventually peel off.

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
The cedar wood shingles hold up pretty well outdoors especially if you give them a coat of preservative every couple of years. I would use spray can enamels to paint the aluminum if you go that route.

-Brian

·
Premium Member
258 Posts
Decided to make shingles from beer cans

Interesting idea.
I'd be interested in seeing pictures of the shingles installed, before and after painting.
Dawg :cool:

·
Premium Member
4 Posts
Joe,

Beverage cans are almost always litho printed. If their is a top coat it will likley be a UV coating. I don't think it is used on most beverage cans though. If it is used and is matt finished you should have no broblem painting over it with some kind of spray enamel. Gloss finishes will give you a problem so avoid them.

The bets bet is to try the print you want to use. Once it completely dries try to scrape it off. If it dosen't scratch off it shoule withstand the weather.

·
Premium Member
526 Posts
Good thought.