G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. I am new to the hobby and have weighing out the decision on how to start this journey. First things first, RAIL POWER -or- R/C? which one is cheaper yet more reliable. AND COMPLETELY OUT OF LEFT FIELD... I bought a G-Scale Dummy GP-38 engine and tore it apart. I'm pretty familiar with R/C cars and was honestly wondering how difficult it would be to put a battery, ESC, and brushed motor in one of these things. it seems like a cheap alternative (if you're willing to do the research and operation). Has anyone heard of this being done before? <<I DO like being considered a pioneer)

·
Premium Member
3,883 Posts
Largescale uses R/C for track power DC, track powered DCC, battery and live steam.

There is a battery/RC section on this forum with lots of info.

·
Premium Member
5,908 Posts
how difficult it would be to put a battery, ESC, and brushed motor in one of these things
Quite easy. The problem I ran into is reversing the ESC. Most r/c cars (at the time I was looking) were designed to go very fast in one direction only. Quite unlike a train!

Wheels and gears are likely to be your biggest problem. The dummy probably has plastic wheels - you want metal ones if you expect it to last.

Some folk switch to battery to avoid the hassles of cleaning their track to let to power flow. I like it because you end up with a different operational relationship with the engine - you are running a locomotive, not controlling a layout. A subtle but meaningful difference. [And you can run as many trains on the same track as you want!]

·
Premium Member
1,798 Posts