G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, All.

I am a life long railroad hobbyist and have been contemplating the purchase of some Large Scale equipment for the first time.

My primary modeling interest is three rail O gauge. In O gauge, locomotives marketed as a certain class of engine are not an accurate reprodution of its intended prototype. For example, Lionel's "Dash 9" is really a cross between the 8 and 9 with some details appropriate for one but no the other. Also, MTH's "SD70MAC" is really a model of the SD70M with some AC details added. Neither of the above mentioned models is a particularly good representation of its supposed prototype.

I have seen advertisements for USA's SD70 units. Since I have not personally inspected the locomotive, would anyone be kind enough to tell me if the model is the SD70M or SD70MAC?

Thanks in adavance for any assistance.

Regards,

Bob

·
Premium Member
348 Posts
I don't know, but I just ordered one in the new BNSF "Speed Lettering" logo. Supposed to be here next Tuesday. Will be happy to post photos after I get it.

·
Premium Member
58 Posts
In my experience, few if any models are "spot on" as far as prototypical details are concerned. With all the research involved with bringing a new model to market, it has always mystified me as to why. My guess is the manufacturers are at the mercy of the Chinese factories and have no control over the actual details. Or they want to include details from different versions of the same (or nearly) class of loco to allow buyers to change the details to meet their expectations. Either way, it seems that all manufacturers/importers are guilty of the same thing.

·
Premium Member
4,626 Posts
I have 3 of them. I have no idea about the 1:1 model, so I'm happy with them.

·
Premium Member
759 Posts
Posted By Sourdoh on 06/12/2008 11:44 AM