Votes: 0 0.0%
  • aftermarket sound

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi fellow Model Railroad enthusiasts, Im a 30 + years veteran with G Scale but brand new to after market sound systems, I run LGB, Bachmann, Aristocraft trains on 4 tracks plus a trolley with Analog power.

My question is about a used LGB 25552 alco diesel i just purchased, it has a Pheonix 2K2 sound board, works as it should and sounds fantastic except the externeral spdt switch is not controlling the volume up or down, seems like it is stuck in the loudest mode, I did continuity check on switch and its connection to pins 4,5 and 6 and its correctly wired and electrically functioning except its not lowering the volume, as I mentioned seems to be stuck in the loudest mode, can you help with any tips to restore the control function of the switch and how do I disable the sound when not needed, I downloaded the install manual but didn't find much info for this problem, as I said I run a dc set up only. Tnx

·
Registered
3,384 Posts
I have a couple older Phoenix and several Sierras. IIRC, the volume control also controls the various functions once you hold it a certain amount of time. On the Sierras you need to "bump it" up/down rather than just holding it to get to the volume you want. I don't recall if the Phoenix is the same, or just the opposite (i.e., hold it for a bit to get volume control).

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4