G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everybody,
    I guess I'll  add myself  to the list of new people here.  My name is Kris from central Pennsylvania. I am new to the whole large scale train thing. I got interested (obsessed!?)  back in November. I have started with buying an LGB starter set and some Bachman stuff,  but unfortunately it didn't het here in time to be put under  the Christmas tree! I have been running (playing!) trains in the living room since then.

I had an HO set as a kid, but I've never had room inside for a layout. Plus the scenery would have to be made to look "real" even though it wasn't. I had to be outside where scenery was real and alive. Originally, I wanted to do a 12" or 15" gauge railway, but the sheer amount of work involved with fabricating everything from scratch  was just too much for one person to handle. Not to mention the amount of land it requires, things would have been awefully cramped around here! Thats when I decided to get involved with large scale. It still combined all of my hobbies of woodworking, metal working, being outside in the yard, and of course, trains!  The electrical  will be the hard part for me, I'm "electrically challenged"!

I'm to the point now where I  have a lot of questions, but  only one or two people in my area have any large scale trains, but no outdoor layouts to visit. I bought a few years of back issues of Garden Railways magazine (very nice) and a few videos with layout tours which have been helpful. But I still have so many questions that it isn't even funny.

I am used to trying to figure things out for myself, but  I am realizing it is more of a benifit  to listen to others' advice. So here I am, the new guy  with all the same old questions. Even though I may sound silly, I guess I have to start somewhere.  Feel free to tell me when to stop asking dumb questions!