G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
613 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright I know many of you use eBay to buy and sell from time to time.  I have some "stuff" that is not trains so sell off.  Can any of you direct me to a site or offer me the basics here on the dos and dont's of a sale.  I am not looking to be some on going dealer type, I'm just clearing out the clutter and I know some stuff would be of value to the right persons.  I have zero experience buying or selling on that or any other site.

I presume I need to set up a PayPal account to manage the financial transaction.  Are there other things I need to do to keep from getting burned as a seller?
 etc, etc, etc.

Thank you

Robert

·
Premium Member
1,704 Posts
A paypal account is a good idea. If you don't want to get burned then you can specify paypal only for payment. Bad thing about that is you could lose some potential bidders and of course just like the government and mafia they will want a piece of the action. But the good thing is you are covered and don't have to worry about bad checks, taking credit cards, or fake money orders.

Never ship until payment has been received and cleared.

Also, make sure you offer insurance for mailing. Either include it as part of the shipping cost or make it optional. My understanding is if someone does not select the insurance and the item gets lost some where then they are liable not you. But if you don't offer insurance or don't include it then you can get stuck for not only the item but the refund to the buyer, so a double whammy. For expensive items I only offer UPS or Fedex so I can see the tracking.

·
Premium Member
2,094 Posts
Posted By jimtyp on 03/04/2008 10:16 AM

.... My understanding is if someone does not select the insurance and the item gets lost some where then they are liable not you....