G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks,
I'm new to this and trying to decide on a ruby or one of the basic roundhouse models.
I read Vance Bass' review on the ruby and it sounds like a good value,
if I bought one I would probably get the ruby 2 with steam gauge.
however the few clips i've seen of it on u tube might show it running for 20 seconds with a guys hand pushing it.

on the other hand some of the runs I see of roundhouse millie on u tube look fairly impressive.
I'v e treid to find a US price on these and it seems u have to call the few dealers i've seen as they don't post the price.
Ive left a few messages on answering machines with no reponse yet.

Anyone have any recommendations as to these two models
and also a ballpark US price on a basic roundhouse.
tnx pjw

·
Premium Member
1,093 Posts
i have both the millie and 4 rubys ,if you like to bash and adjust things get a ruby if you want to run 40 minutes one run and pull some more coaches ,have grades and sharp curves get a millie,they lock lets say british, work eccelent and are very reliable,with and without remote price wise a good choice($ call royce)

Manfred Diel #1313

P.S. 1 Ruby in a box(kit) 1Ruby modifiet with larger boiler and cylinders,1 Ruby geared down 3:1 ,1 Ruby Stock!

·
Premium Member
1,052 Posts