G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! Happy to join and hope I’m in the right place. I have questions about my train about the tree. I set it up and the transformer worked for awhile but now isn’t. I ordered one from eBay and it is not working either. The contacts on the train are clean and so is the track. Forgive me but I have little knowledge. When I hooked the transformer to the track, one lead is blue and the other red. Does it matter which side of the track it’s on? I’ll have my husband check the ohms/voltage but I’m wondering what I’m doing wrong. Thanks for any ****!

·
Registered
132 Posts
It could be the train engine. I have had 2 LGB engines lock up for whatever reason. Does the engine hum when power is applied?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It could be the train engine. I have had 2 LGB engines lock up for whatever reason. Does the engine hum when power is applied?
No humming. No noise at all. When I first turned on the new/used transformer it ran for maybe three secs then nothing

·
Registered
132 Posts
First, find the biggest hammer you have and your best kitchen scissors... No, not that. We can assume power in from the wall is ok if it ran for a bit. That leaves wiring to the track or perhaps dead spots in the track or engine wheels. Try applying a bit of power and GENTLY sliding the engine along the track.

·
Registered
132 Posts
You see, the wheels can be clean but power to the motor is by some sort of slider that contacts the wheels. That could be a problem.

·
Registered
129 Posts
Can you tell us a little bit about the train setup you have? Make, model, transformer, etc.? Knowing this will help us help you.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Can you tell us a little bit about the train setup you have? Make, model, transformer, etc.? Knowing this will help us help you.