G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm completely new to trains and am making plans to start up an outdoor settup this year.  My initial setup will be just a small loop maybe around 30' and I plan to just have 2 stops, a mine and a small town.  The setting will be basically an old west.
Unfortunatly, that's about all I know.  I know nothing of trains.  I did talk to a family friend who has g-scale indoor trains and he recommended that I look into digital trains.  Other than that I have no idea where to start.  
I know it's a fairly broad question, but where do I start?
Thanks for the help!
Dan

·
Premium Member
2,910 Posts
Well I'm a relative novice compared to most of the people here. Maybe I can help. If I get anything wrong, somneone's sure to straighten me out

Do you plan to just run one train, or more than one at once?
Do you have a sense of what scale you want?

The least expensive choice for an engine and cars would probably be a Bachmann starter set. Bachmann mostly offers "western" narrow guage stock in 1:22 scale. Here's an example:

www.ridgeroadstation.com/istar.asp

The Bachmann track, though, is no good for outdoors.

The next least expensive would probably be an Aristocraft starter set. Aristocraft stuff is mostly less "western" looking and mostly standard guage models in 1:29 scale. Aristicraft has a huge product line and an excellent web presence. The company responds quickly to questions. Their track is excellent

USA Trains makes a few starter sets but I never see them anywhere
LGB starter sets are very high quality and expensive
You don't have to get a starter set, you could buy individual pieces
Track is expensive! I've used LGB and aristocraft track. LGB track is very sturdy; Aristocraft track feels a little less sturdy but has a better system for joining pieces. I prefer the Aristocraft track. USA trains makes track just like it.