G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! Newbie here
After several years of running n, ho, and o gauge and stationary steam engines, I've decided I am ready to go into live steam railroading. Been wanting to do it for some time but never really had the space to do so. I don't know anyone who does live steam, so if anyone lives in central Texas and knows of any clubs in the area I would love to hear about it! I'm figuring my first locomotive will probably be a ruby. Any recommendations would be great! Also was wondering if there are any good sites for finding used equipment, other than ebay of course.
Thanks!

·
Registered
1,753 Posts
Welcome aboard, there used to be several active live steamers in the TX area, not sure who all is still with us as most were up there in their years and that was years ago. Look into Roundhouse Engineering, they are probably the best engine for straight out of the box flawless performance. They do offer a couple USA style locomotives as well. Then you have Regner, they offer a small Heisler geared logging engine, Lumberjack, another geared logging style loco. Other brands are Accucraft, Aster and Bowande. All have their good points and less than good points. See what locomotives from each brand interest you and then go from there. Many engines do require quite large curves, others will go around the tightest. If you like logging and the Regner engines, check out this gentlemans logging line, its really beautiful.

·
Registered
1,753 Posts
As far as used, they tend to pop up and sell fast. Even used engines tend to sell for nearly the cost of a new version. The Regner engines come in both screwdriver kits(already painted) or RTR. So you can save a few bucks and spend a few enjoyable evenings building your locomotive.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·