G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just to introduce myself, my name is Paul and I live in Cecil County, MD which is just south of the PA border. By trade I'm a landscaper, and I've actually posted on a couple of posts already on this forum. My wife and I were introduced to large scale when we bought a starter set for around the Christmas tree. Then we started going to garden RR open house tours, meeting new friends and now we are hooked.
Several good friends of ours are members of this site, and I kept hearing them talk about the wealth of knowledge to be had here, and they were right!
We are hoping to have a garden RR in the next couple of years, but for now my time is spent on kitbashing and scratch building cars. I'm actually taking my M.O.W. kitbash set to a good friends RR for his open house to run.
My main interest is in steam era locomotives. We love to visit steam RR's, and spend alot of time at the Strasburg RR. We also very much enjoyed the EBT narrow guage which helped me out with seeing first hand the scale and size of a narrow guage RR vs standard guage.
Right now, I model 1:20.3 & 1:22. I really like the rustic charm of narrow guage RR'ing, so that's what we are aiming for.

This is a great site, and I'm glad I'm now a part!

Paul

·
Premium Member
4,716 Posts
Pleased to meet another steam nut!

I live in a motel, so I have to go to the Chicago Botanic for garden railroading ;)

·
Premium Member
1,704 Posts
Welcome to MLS Paul! You might consider posting some of your bashes and scratches in the modeling forum. I for one would like to see some pics.