G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
254 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started a blog mostly about adding features to DCC to make it easier to use.
The blog allows moderated comments, I wanted to avoid having it get off topic or cluttered.
However, feel free to discuss anything on the blog here.

I know several people have asked about some advanced topics like Transponding and feedback. hopefully, those will get answered soon on the blog.

the-ALLY blog

B0B

·
Premium Member
2,910 Posts
Bob:

I have no knowledge to offer but I'll be reading that blog closely. I think your comparison of DCC to the early days of DOS is about right, and also you're right about the failure of the imagination in term sof what DCC might be able to do.

·
Premium Member
254 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Posted By lownote on 01/11/2009 7:09 AM
Bob:

I have no knowledge to offer but I'll be reading that blog closely. I think your comparison of DCC to the early days of DOS is about right, and also you're right about the failure of the imagination in term sof what DCC might be able to do.

I wish I understood why DCC is still in the age of DOS.
Think back to the days of the Timex, TRS80, and the S100 buss.
What was peoples view of what a PC was?
We used to decide which one to buy based on it's processor and now much ram it had.

When bought my most recent PC, A Sony portable, I was looking for one to edit my High Definition Videos. I wanted a big screen, with enough resolution to see full HD. I it to read the memory cards in the Alpha 100 SLR and the Sony HD camcorder. I wanted HDMI output to connect it to the TV and play 5.1 surround sound on the home theater.

I never even thought to ask how much memory it has or how big the drive is or what sort of processor it has. All I know about it now is that it has plenty of memory, holds hundreds of hours of HD video and the processor is really fast.