G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi to the forum!

I just purchased a Thunderbolt Express (#90011) for $110 locally. It needed lots of cleaning to rolling stock, track, engine and tender. I had to take the engine apart and clean and relube / oil everything and fix a slipping gear. It runs fine, looks great, but the noise is just not acceptable for an under the tree kitchen train. I believe it's a 2nd gen (smooth bottom plate, motor is hot melt glued in, clearly a failure point) but I'm brand new to these so I'm not sure.

I thought about a Sagami remotor for less noise and I looked at Bachmann's parts site and found the chassis options, and thinking about the Anniversary chassis for $103. My question is, are these new chassis quiet? It seems like this design with this inexpenise brushed motor is just noisy. It's fine for a Christmas train but it's no fun that it's this loud! The Sound does work just fine but man, it needs an upgrade!

If this has already been answered I apologize!

Cheers and happy to be part this forum and G-Scale!

Greg

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Greg,

I did not, I did pick up the rear of the loco and yes, I agree that the noise is probably drive train and maybe some motor. It seems that the whole gear train may contributing some noise. I take it this brand and product are never that quiet?

I took a .MOV with my phone but the forum won't accept it.

Cheers,

Greg

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
In my experience, the newer chassis are quiet. Take a look on Youtube and you will find lots of videos - with sound.
Thanks, I have watched some of those but there's sound as well so it's hard to tell.

I thought about ordering this one and painting the cylinder boxes

Cheers,

Greg

·
Registered
294 Posts
It's the old gearbox in those units that makes the noise.
I have a version 5 standard chassis that's as quiet as any anniversary chassis is.