G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I'm currently in the planning process of making a simple steam tram in roughly 1:22. I currently plan to use a single cylinder if I can find the right one for the right price, but my real problem is a boiler..I'm not sure what would be best for this project.. alcohol, butane, or even coal fired...So i'm asking for opinions and/or tutorials to help me me along with it..I've NEVER done anything like this before and want to my best.

·
Premium Member
740 Posts
A few more details might help. You mention looking for a single cylinder, if you find it for the right price. Two questions come to mind. Do you have a rough idea of a budget for this? Are you looking to attempt the boiler yourself, sub contract it out, or use an existing boiler such as one for the Ruby? I have a few british books on boiler making if you want to read up.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Budget is undetermined, but trying to be a little thrifty. I plan to build most of it myself(including boiler) since I like creating things like that. I just have never done it before, and don't know where to look,etc...

·
Premium Member
389 Posts
Here's a suggestion to get you started: Midwest boiler & live steam engine .
I don't believe it's particularly expensive; I think it's somwhere in the range of $160 ~ $250.

There was a small, 4-wheel "logging lokie" designed around this boiler & engine; I believe it was the Bay Area Garden Railway Society that came up with the plans, but unfortunately I can't find the link at the moment.
Since the loco isn't much more than the Midwest boiler & engine mounted on a simple wooden frame with chain drive to one of the axles, it wouldn't be difficult to "kitbash" the basic BARGS design into a "steam tram" configuration.
Tom

·
Premium Member
373 Posts