G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Premium Member
469 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am starting to build a brass railtruck/sedan delivery, and I plan to make it my first battery/RC project. I had planned to make nearly all of it out of brass, however, now I am wondering if I should make the roof out of wood in order to help my antenna reception.
I am obviously a complete novice at this, so any advice you might have will be appreciated.

Thanks,

Matt

·
Premium Member
239 Posts
Matt,

I believe you are correct, I remember reading somewhere in the R/C battery forum that there is a problem with the R/C systems in brass engines--your project would then have the same problem. Not sure if a wood roof would be adequate. You will need someone with more expertise in that area than I.

Looks like a great start on an interesting project. Just out of curiosity--how do you cut the brass sheet so accurately--I find brass "curls" or "warps" when I cut it with heavy sheers or tin snips.

Regards

The other Matt

·
Premium Member
1,263 Posts
Not the best environment for radio signals. You will likely need to route the antenna of whatever system you use outside of the brass cab. The wood roof may help a bit. Those with goose experience will likely know the answers here.

·
Premium Member
469 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well, it sounds like you two pretty much agree that, at minimum, I need to use wood for the roof. Bummer. Now I have to figure out how to attach wood to brass with a strong enough bond to warp it.

Thanks for taking the time to answer.

Matt, Thanks for the comments. I cut the brass with a band saw, file and nibbler:

Take care,
The other Matt

·
Premium Member
469 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Posted By altterrain on 02/10/2009 1:11 AM
Have you thought about using simple battery power for this?