G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,269 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am attempting to upload a picture onto my webspace here at MLS.com, and it will not upload onto my picture archive page. Would compressed photos

be any different bto upload than normal photos?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,393 Posts
Dan

Are you using the MLS 1st Class interface in trying to upload your file, if so, you'll usually encounter a timeout error if the file is much larger than 1MB in size, even less if you happen to be on a slow dial-up connection. The previous is just a guess as to what you may be encountering, if I guessed wrong then please provide some additional details describing your problem and we'll try and figure it out. :D
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,269 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Steve,

When I made the attempt to upload a photo from my computer's file, I did all of the correct steps as in the past. The only difference is in the

small gray box that comes up for a few seconds while the upload is in progress. At the top bar of that small screen I see a note that says,

unknown................ It dissapears too quickly for the rest of the wording to be displayed. The day before, I attempted to upload one of my

videos from YouTube. It did not complete the upload due to the file size I believe. Then one of our members gave me the secret formula for doing a

YouTube upload, and I was successful. Could that video uploading attempt have something to do with the problem I am having now?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,269 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Steve,

It seems to be only one picture that I can't seem to upload onto my MLS 1st class web space. It happens to be the picture that appears beside my

posts. I tried other pictures from my computer's picture files and they upload without problems. I am going to try and include it in this post

directly from my computer's file.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,269 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I see it didn't work. A note came up when I submitted the post that said the file was too big.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,393 Posts
Posted By: Madman on 05/22/2008 7:50 PM

I see it didn't work. A note came up when I submitted the post that said the file was too big.

Dan

OK, the above part of your last reply "said the file was too big" tells me that you aren't trying to upload the file to your 1st Class web space, but are instead, using the Message Attachments: feature available just below the text entry area on the full text editor screen. Because as far as I know that's the only place where the new forum software will tell you the the file size is too big.

The feature you are using and the error you are getting should look like the following.



What it's telling you is straight forward. The software is designed not to allow any file larger than 60KB to be uploaded when using the Message Attachments feature.

So if you wish to use that particular image file, you've got three choices...[*]To use it in the Message Attachments feature, you'll have to use some graphics editing software and compress the file to where the file size becomes smaller than 60KB...or[*]To use the file , but instead upload it to your 1st Class web space, via the 1st Class web space interface. You'll still have to use some graphics editing software and reduce the file size to somewhere be low 1MB. Accessed by the following path...

MLS menu-bar > Members > 1st Class Only > Web Space > User Login
Or you can just click the following direct link..

MLS 1st Class Member Web Space Login Screen
[*]To use the file as it is, then you'll need to learn how to use the MLS 1st Class Web Space FTP interface and aquire and set up a FTP client software program.[/list]
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,269 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Good Morning Steve,

As you probably can surmise I am not up to speed on the finer points of using a computer. I understand not being able to attach the photo in message

attachments, that makes sense, since the file is too big. However, Why would one particular photo, that is in my computer, not upload onto my 1st

class webspace, when every other one will? Besides, that photo was uploaded to my profile here on MLS.

I appreciate your patience, and your help. It's not critical that the particular photo be attached to a post at this point, but I guess I would like

to learn as much as possible for the future.

Thanks again
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,716 Posts
Lots easier way:

Open your internet explorer and put ftp://1stclass.mylargescale.com/ in for the URL.

A little box will pop up to log in. Log in like [email protected] and your password.

Now, open a windows explorer and find the files you want to up load. You can either drag and drop them, or copy/paste them from your local folder to the web space.

Avoid spaces and special characters in your file names.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,393 Posts
Hey Dan,

No problem, I don't think that there's anyone that's got a handle on all of it, I know I sure don't. /DesktopModules/NTForums/themes/mls/emoticons/hehe.gif:D

First off to answer you questions...[*]I understand not being able to attach the photo in message attachments, that makes sense, since the file is too big.
You have to remember that there are two reasons that a file will not upload, file is larger than 60kb and wrong file type which is indicated by the file extension, and the error message doesn't actually tell just which reason the file failed on.
[*]Why would one particular photo, that is in my computer, not upload onto my 1st class webspace, when every other one will? Besides, that photo was uploaded to my profile here on MLS.
This is harder to answer, and just happens to be the one we're trying to figure out, /DesktopModules/NTForums/themes/mls/emoticons/hehe.gif:D maybe the file has changed in some way or got corrupted, or ???.[/list]OK, let's back up a bit, as I understand what you've said.[*]You are only having trouble with the one image file.[*]When you try and upload the file to your 1st Class web space, it fails to successfully upload and the Upload Progress box disappears too quickly for you to really see what is displayed, except for the word "unknown."[*]When you attempt to upload the file using the Message Attachments: feature. You encounter the Invalid file type or file exceeds max size (60kb).[*]Yet you used the file to upload as your Avatar (i.e. the small picture that appears in the author column, just below Posts: in each of you replies.) in the User Forum Profile area.[/list]
As you can see from the following, I downloaded a copy of the file that is used as your Avatar from the MLS server (i.e. Avatar_793.jpg), and then uploaded it to my 1st Class web space, and finally placed a link in this reply so the image would display.


Now this isn't the exact same file that you have on your computer. When you used the original file on your computer in your Forum Profile the MLS forum software uploaded a copy of the original file, gave it a new name (i.e. Avatar_793.jpg) and stored it where the rest of your forum profile information is stored.

OK, now lets deal with the file that's on your computer that isn't working.[*]What is the name of the file, including the three letter file extension that's after the decimal point?[*]What does your computer show the size of the file to be?[*]Are you using the Browse... button in both the Message Attachments and 1st Class Interface to navigate to the location on your computer where the file is stored?[/list]
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,269 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Hi Steve,

The file name is - 2006-08-11.rar

The file size is - 114 KB

Yes, I am using the browse button to look for photos that I want to upload onto my 1st class space.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,393 Posts
Posted By Madman on 05/23/2008 9:14 PM

«snip...» The file name is - 2006-08-11.rar «snip...»
OK, that explains part of it. If that has always been the extension on the file (i.e. .rar) what it tells me is that it is compressed file placed into an archive file, created by a program WinRAR published by RarLab. Which is the reason that using the file fails in both the Message Attachments and 1st Class Interface, it's not a supported file type.

Now, as to why it worked for you in the Forum Profile for your Avatar. I'm not sure, but if that is the exact same file (i.e. 2006-08-11.rar) that you used for uploading the Avatar then my guess is, that portion of the new MLS forum software was written to be able to upload a '.rar' file type. Then once uploaded to extract the compressed file within the archive. Which isn't uncommon, I just wasn't aware that the software had that capability, always something to learn. :D

Next question, do you have either the WinnRAR or WinZip programs installed on your computer? If you do and know how to use them then all you need to do is open the 2006-08-11.rar archive file with either program and extract the graphic file contained within and the use that as the file to attach or uplaod.

If you're still running into problems let me know and I'll see if I can help out. :D

PS: Was just thinking, if you don't know if you have the required software, all you really need to do to find out is use MS/Explorer (i.e. not the browser MS/Internet Explorer) to navigate to the folder where the file 2006-08-11.rar is located and just double-click the file name. If you've got software that can open the archive file and show you what's contained within it will be automatically loaded and will open the file. If not then you'll be asked to choose a program to open the file with.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,262 Posts
I have resynced my profile and I can acess my space from the interface but I can not acess from the FTP. What am I doing wrong I lost the saved name for some reason and I though it was [email protected] is this correct or am I forgetting something.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,767 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,393 Posts
Posted By Kovacjr on 06 Sep 2009 10:51 AM
Im trying to log into the FTP site and neither gold or 1stclass works. Its been a while since I had tried and can not get it to work. Any ideas Jason

A fair piece back Shad made a change, which required all 1st Class members to perform a re-synch procedure. The procedure required 1st Class members to go into their user profile and make a change to their name or password, update their profile, then after about 2 hours the MLS software would re-synch their User ID's and passwords between the forum and 1st Class web space access sides. If you've never performed this procedure, then this may be the problem.

I know that the MLS FTP interface is currently working properly, because I just used it to upload some image files.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,393 Posts
Jason

Well, now that I backed up and re-read your previous replies, you've stated that you've already performed the re-sync.

So...
[*] What operating system are you using?
[*] What FTP client software are you using?
[*] Native browser FTP client?
[*] Specific FTP client software?
[/list][*] What are you using as the MLS FTP host URL?
[*] What are you using as your MLS FTP user ID?
[/list]
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,700 Posts
Posted By SteveC on 06 Sep 2009 11:47 AM

I know that the MLS FTP interface is currently working properly, because I just used it to upload some image files.



I just tried accessing my 1st Class web space with FTP - works fine for me as well.
 
1 - 20 of 24 Posts
Top