G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
686 Posts
Dwight,

Until a few months ago, I had been on dial-up for years and learned to live with it.

(I went from famine to feast so to speak - having now gone form 56K to 6Mbs download / 1Mbs upload service.)

I am new to MLS and having pretty much exclusively posted on Aristo's General Forum for 8 years I got use to dial-up with off-line presentations ("Vignettes") I wrote in an editor (Jarte) and implemented them via copy / paste - then previewing it before submitting.

That Forum bulletin board having been UBB, then V-Bulletin, has a picture limit of 8 pictures per post. So on some occasions I would apply up to 3 posts for it in a new thread topic.

I believe the MLS preference is to limit picture size to 640H pixels as a matter of preference as I read elsewhere by your request - probably for the reason of dial-up users, too?

Since I made use of Aristo's arrangement with LSOL to freely store pictures - having accumulated maybe 900 or so pictures thereon - those pictures were / are decimated by LSOL to 500H /V max. upon upload - so that took care of size, but I don't recall that Aristo had / has any expressed policy or mechanics limits on picture size.

To this end, I realize the mechanics is such that LSOL pictures are likely precluded for display for anywhere other than Aristo' Forums, and also, it is likely inappropriate to use them in on MLS.
Your advise is much appreciated and thank you,
-Ted

P.S.
Just so you know, Browser Firefox version 3.0.3 does not allow copy / paste material into the MLS wysiwyg editor, whereas IE version 7.0xxx does! No problem though with the "Quick reply" window.

Greg knows about this bug, too, as we discussed it today.
http://www.mylargescale.com/Communi...rumid/26/postid/54489/view/topic/Default.aspx

·
Administrator
5,728 Posts
Hi Ted and welcome to MLS!