G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,463 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wow, this was a surprise!! /DesktopModules/NTForums/themes/mls/emoticons/crying.gif If you are interested in the log before this point, click this link archive.mylargescale.com/forum/topic.asp  . Thanks Vance and Noel.

Noel if you ever would like some input on building the Bogie feel free to contact me off line. I would be happy to help in any way I can. By the way, this applies to any of the other guys out there who at one time indicated an interest in building a live steam Mason Bogie.

·
Premium Member
3,378 Posts
Winn
How about some input on how you developed the "skills & tools" necessary to be able to put forth such an excellent scratch build live steam engine. Have enjoyed to process and would enjoy even more being an "understudy" to your talent.

·
Premium Member
1,463 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Charles, In my previous life, i.e. before I retired, I worked as a technician at the Sandia National Labs rocket sled track. One of my fellow employees was a journyman machinest and taught me a little about machining. However a lot of what I do was learned by trial and error over a life time of designing and building stuff. As far as machining goes I'm sure that there books that could give you a lot better information about machining than I can. From what I have seen you post here I think you have a very good level of skills yourself. The tools I use are as follows:

Lathe; Harbor Freight mini lathe

Mill; Micro Mark

Cutting tools and fixtures for the lathe and mill; Micromark and the LittleMachineShop.com