G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all I am new to the world of large scale. I have worked on N scale and HO. I am looking for some ideas for a garden layout. I like to watch trains run and am not into yards and such. I enjoy the challenge of building bridges and would like to have a water feature. Any and all ideas would be of great help. I have a rough scetch of the area drawn with a paint program. Thank You Paul /DesktopModules/NTForums/themes/mls/emoticons/whistling.gif

·
Registered
3,384 Posts
I don't know where you are located (helps to fill in your pertinent info), but you are welcome to come over to the T&LBRR and "borrow" all the ideas you want. We are in Orange County, CA. Follow the link to our web site for some ideas.

Welcome to the hobby/forum and Enjoy.

BTW, we are doing open house next Saturday (7/19/08) and all are invited. e-mail for address directions.

Todd

http://tortoiseandlizardbash.com/

·
Premium Member
365 Posts
I would suggest taking an afternoon and perusing the multitude of posts in these forums. Especially the 'Beginners' and 'Track, trestles and roadbeds' sections. Many of the people who post who have active layouts have lots of pictures posted. Also try to visit some of the personal websites listed in the posts. There is a wealth of information here I have found invaluable. Check around your area for a garden railway club. I highly encourage folks to join and support local clubs. It is a great social time, a time to share about "If I'd only..." and a great way to see other layouts. Keep an eye out for shows you can get to. We just went to the HAGRS show in KC. Very much worth the trip and I recommend it for anyone who can travel to the midwest.