G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I did a brief intro in the noob section below, so I'll only add a little intro here. I'm new to large scale (and effectively a noob to the whole hobby), and I'm planning a simple G-scale (1:24?) layout in my patio as a start. This is mainly for my 2 year old twin boys, who simply like to watch just about any train running on a track. I've got a roughly "L" shaped patch in the front, and would like to make something like a double loop work in there. I don't need to run a big boy on here, if I decide to upgrade later I've got plenty more land to put it on.

I'm posting a copy of a layout a friend from another forum made for me. I like this layout a bunch, but it is based on different dimensions than I have, and would run smack into a tree. I'm also posting a photo of the area and a rough sketch that hopefully gives enough information.

I'd love whatever ideas you guys have, as well as suggestions on power supply and other goodies I would need to make this work. I'm looking simple again, I'm not planning on DCC or anything for this, just something for the boys to watch go around, and hopefully play with a bit as they grow.

thanks!

·
Premium Member
4,716 Posts
I like your idea.

1. Keep in mind, it takes a LONG distance to get a g gauge track to go over another. You might think of a crossing track there rather than an underpass.

2. You might put a bridge over the notch to relieve that tight curve where it's 60 inches wide. Then you could put 5 or even 6 ft diameter curve there.

Looks like you could fit a couple turnouts for when the boys get a little older. One thing they'll like soon is the ability to vary the train's path as it goes around.

You wouldn't believe how much fun kids had with some old track and a couple wheelsets. They could spend hours putting track pieces together and rolling wheels while Dad was train shopping. Kids love hands-on stuff.

·