G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,901 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought my first lawnmower in August 2006, after buying our house.
(a new craftsman push-mower)
it was used "half a season" in '06, then all season last year.
so it has "a year and a half of use"

this spring, it needs a tuneup and the blade sharpened!
I have never done this kind of work on a mower before, but I figure it cant be hard.
(I used to change my own oil on my car.)

I googled a few basic pages for tune-up advice, and came across this one:

http://landscaping.about.com/od/toppicks/a/mower_tuneup.htm

I dont understand the need for the first step though:

Before performing a lawn mower tune-up, you need to warm up the engine. Put just enough gas in the gas tank to get your lawn mower running. Start your engine and let it run until it runs out of gas. Finally, now that you’re ready to perform the lawn mower tune-up, you need to take a safety precaution: disconnect the spark plug wire so that the engine can’t start accidentally.

why would it need to be warmed-up first?
not seeing the logic there.

so I think all the steps are:
(not necessarily in order)

1. drain and replace oil.
2. new sparkplug.
3. replace oil filter (if it has one)
4. replace gas filter (if it has one)
5. replace air filter (if it has one)
6. sharpen or replace blade.

I havent actually dragged the mower out of the shed yet to look at it.
I dont think it has all those filters, maybe just an oil and air filter.

anyone ever use one of these dremel attachments for sharpening the blade?

http://tinyurl.com/3pgafr

its supposed to be only about $10..worth it? or just do it manually with a file?

thanks,
Scot

·
Registered
114 Posts