G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hay guys: My twelve year old son and I our as green as they come Im very new at this G scale train stuff.
So please bare with me. We have been reeding alot about G scale or garden railways.
Can someone explain what standard gauge and narrow gauge means.And are we talking about track or the trains?
And scale how do you know what scale train you have? I guess my question is what scale is L.G.B. and what size track should i use?
Thanks Scott & Austin

·
Premium Member
4,235 Posts
Standard gauge is 4 feet 8 1/2 inches between the rails. All modern interstate railroads in commerce and passenger traffic are standard gauge. For the most part this has been the case for the past 100+ years.

Narrow gauge is anything less than 4' 8 1/2" between the rails. Common narrow gauge in the USA is 3' between the rails. In Maine there were several 2' railroads. Other gauges were also used. A few of these Narrow gauge lines are now tourist lines. In the 1800s and the early part of the last century these narrow gauge railroads were vital to the commerce of the regions they served.

The D&RGW narrow gauge was a vital part of the economy of southwestern Colorado.

Standard gauge trains are sold in "G" in scales of 1:32 (correct) and 1:29 (not a correct scale, but looks nice). Narrow gauge trains are sold in 1:24, 1:22.5, and 1:20.5 (correct for 3' gauge). All of these will run on 45mm track.

Much of LGB is 1:22.5. This scale is correct for the European meter gauge trains. While they made American style trains, the scale was not correct. They also made models that represented modern trains. The scale on these was variable and never stated. I have some freight cars and they run well with my 1:29 cars. The modern engines are a mixed scale. Somewhere between 1:22.5 and 1:29. The length may be one scale and the height may be another.