G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Premium Member
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
I am new to G-scale and model railroading in general.
I have wanted a G-scale railway for years and am now ready to start one.
Unfortunately I am as lost as I can be /DesktopModules/NTForums/themes/mls/emoticons/crazy.gif One day I think I am ready to start buying track and so on and the next I find myself second guessing and being totally overwhelmed with the amount of choices and information. So I keep putting it off.

I have read lots of articles on all different subjects that all seem to conclude with the same statement…. “Stop waiting and get started!” but where… that is what I want to know.
I honestly have no idea what I should purchase/do next.

My wife while trying to encourage my interest bought me a starter set that I can run in circles but I want to really kick this thing off and make this a large railway. I just have no idea what step to take next.
I already have a 10AMP Aristocraft power pack that some guy at the Houston Train show convinced me I “had to have to run a large garden railroad” but was that a good purchase? I have no clue. At this time I doubt it as I don’t even know what to do with it.
Form what I understand it is a good power pack… but is it what I need? How do I hook it up and even dumber… to what? Heck I thought I understood what he was saying when I bought it, but when I got home - I was lost… so it is just sitting in the box :eek:) How much track can the little transformer that came with the set power before I need to get that 10AMP thing involved

Track seems like a logical choice for a next step but I have no idea what type or code to get. I don't want to just match what came in the starter set if there is a better option available. ?

Long story short - from what type of track to buy, to what components actually connect between the wall socket and the track, to choosing DCC vs Radio… I am totally lost.