G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I'm fairly new to G-scale, but one of the first things I found out is you can't afford to buy stuff at the local hobby shops, even if the have things in stock.  I began purchasing my trains and track in September, using a certain internet shop out of Horseheads, NY.  The prices were good (a relative term in G-scale) but their delivery has been questionable at best.  My question is what are the best internet train shops for price and delivery?

Thanks

·
Premium Member
352 Posts
Never had anything but good service and pricing from Ridge Road Station.

http://www.ridgeroadstation.com/

·
Premium Member
143 Posts
Ken:

The relative small market for LS trains, batch rather than continuous production and a supply chain that in most cases stretches to China causes lots of availability uncertainties, delays and missed deliveries. Each person seems to have their favorite source, but there is no single source that has the best prices, everything in stock, and will make their shipping schedules 100%.

Another wrinkle is that the shop with the best price sometimes has the highest shipping and handling charge, thus negating part of the low price. Be certain you understand what additional charges are involved before giving them your CC.

I'm certain the next 10 posts will sight deficiencies with (insert supplier name) and give assurance that (insert supplier name) has never missed a delivery, but in my opinion they are all about the same. I would encourage you to find the best way to contact whatever supplier(s) you choose. This can access the best information to trace items that are slow in getting to your RR. Simply sending a supplier an email is usually the way to get ignored.