G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings all, I’m new to live steam and am in need of some tips and tricks for my Accucraft C-25 butane fired. In the manual it says it takes about 20 minutes to raise 50PSI but it’s actually taking me more like 40-45- is this pretty normal? I’be got the gas turned up not a whole lot but definitely enough to hear a nice hiss and I can hear the water boiling. I’m also getting some black soot looking stuff coming from the stack- is this normal? I figured the gas isn’t super clean which explains it but I definitely don’t want to damage anything if it’s not normal. There’s 3/4 glass of water so it’s not dry. Last question- when I get it to 50PSI and turn down the blower and crank the throttle it runs around the circle a few times and then the pressure drops way back to 25-30 and it comes to a stop. Any ideas on what I’m doing wrong? I’ve got the axle pump working well and there’s water in the glass (although the air bubbles make it somewhat difficult to read exactly.) maybe there’s too much water or the gas is turned down too low? Thank you in advance for all the help- I’m really enjoying this new hobby

·
Premium Member
2,925 Posts
Hi Joe,
Welcome to MLS, and I hope that you can find the answers to your problems.
I do not have a C-25, nor do I use gas, so I might not be able to help, but here are a couple of thoughts.
1) Do you have anyone you know who is familiar with live steam and can advise you in person, as it is always easier to diagnose when you see the problem in person.
2) I am always careful not to trust pressure gauges. Use long nose pliers to lift the top of the safety valve to see how fast steam escapes. However since you say it does run only for a while, they are probably okay.