G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,

I need help! I'm new to this DCC, it's a little more complex than I thought. My problem started with the lights going dim and flickering at slow speeds. One forum post said that it was Aritos wiring. Digitrax thinks it might be the decoder (583AR). They suggested to try another which I had. Because they advertise constant brightness on lights. Now I can't get either decoder to make the Loco. move. I did have it running at one time before I swapped decoders. I can turn lights off and on. But just can't get it to go down the track. I have a 583AR installed in my Aristo Mikado plug and play. Powered by Digitrax DCS200 8am booster, DT400 throttle. And a 2012 power supply.

I hope and I'm sure it is something simple I'm missing. I just thought that I would check here since tech support is closed for the weekend.

·
Premium Member
2,740 Posts
Do you have any means to measure the DCC track voltage?

Also, how bright are the lights when they are on? Are they dim at all?
And what happens to the lights (being on) when you try to make the engine move? Any change in brightness?

From your description of the problem so far it seems to me that you may be loosing voltage somewhere - poor connection possibly.

What you could also do to isolate the problem is set up a short test track, ideally with a single section of 5 or 6 ft track - hook the DCC system up to that and use that for troubleshooting.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have measured the track voltage, when I was on the phone with Digitrax and he said it was good, and the booster to. I have always been testing on a five foot section.