G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All,

I am new to this hobby and have a few questions that I am sure a million other newbies have asked and gotten answers for, but here I go anyway!
1) What code track is USA train and Aristo? Is it 250?
2) I have just got an USA train GP 38-2 and my first car is a MTH.....the MTH coupler seems to be about 1/4 inch higher....anyway to fix that? I mean they still kinda hook, but it seems odd...
3) anyone have any ideas about how to go about a semi raised off the ground RR? Sort of like an elevated one... but only 6 inches off the ground or so..

Thanks,

Barkyardbomber

·
Registered
2,500 Posts
1 code 332, just like LGB I think.

2 shim one coupler up or the other down, depending upon which one matches most of your stuff (or a height gage).
3 They sell ladder roadbed that can be set at whatever height you want, then you can always backfill later should you desire.

·
Premium Member
258 Posts
Bark...

Welcome to MLS!  You'll find friendly folks here and get lots of answers...and they probably won't all agree.  That's the way this hobby is...:D

Dawg :cool:

·
Premium Member
965 Posts
BackYardBomber,
Here are four pictures from my layout, which is elevated 6" to 2 1/2 ft above the yard.
East end:

Middle:

West end:

Aristo and USA track is code 332.
Welcome to MLS.
JimC.

·
Premium Member
2,910 Posts
I'm a newbie, I've been blundering my way along with the help of people here. I really like the "ladder" trackbed approach.  www.btcomm.com/trains/primer/roadbed/ladder1.htm