G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
241 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How to take apart an LGB Rusty" Lake George & Boulder 0-4-0 Tank Steam Locomotive.

It's my first attempt at kitbash.
I've taken the fat red part, the tank? and the cabin off, that was easy. I now want to connect a different front lamp and attach a new bell and steam dome directly to the cylindrical black narrow shell. I'm sure I have to unscrew the bottom to get to the inside of the shell but I don't want to do it wrong and run the risk of damaging the motor block or not being able to put it back together again.

·
Premium Member
4,297 Posts
IIRC from the underside. Unscrew the cab and remove the cab, then unscrew the smokestack. That should allow you to lift off the boiler.

·
Registered
2,236 Posts
Underneath you will see 2 screws just inside from the cylinders. They hold the boiler at the front. The cab holds the boiler on the back.

Andrew

·
Registered
241 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Done!
Looks like that weight is nicely glued in there, maybe best just to drill from the top and glue the new bell and steam dome?

On second thoughts since the new bell is light I'll just make a hole and glue it from the top, the new steam dome is heavy thick brass, so I'll drill right thru the weight and hold the steam dome with a screw from inside.

·
Registered
2,236 Posts
Vic they are the ones that got me too. I'm in the middle of customizing a few. A tram and a Hawaiian.

TTT, The lead weight is held in by the two screws on top of the boiler. None of my weights were glued. It's not like you will ever need to remove it anyway so yeah I might do the same thing because my new domes will cover those weight screws. There is a screw under the valve covers that releases the cylinder too. I would like to lower the cylinders so inline with the axles but looks to be a bit involved. They can stay where they are.

Andrew

·
Registered
241 Posts
Discussion Starter #9