G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone out there,
I am new to MLS but not to the hobby. My question is simple. I am looking for advice on how to keep my Accucraft Loco's on track? I have a C-21, K-28, K-36, & K-37. All are electric track powered and no modifications other then sound. All but the K-28 seem to prefer being off the track then on. This is very frustrating
. Before I just shelve them for decoration. OH!!! I did that already. Can anyone help.
I have heard of modifying the suspension of the drivers by removing springs
I have heard of modifying the spring on the pilot truck.
I have now heard of tapering the wheels on the pilot truck with a metal lathe in order for the pilot truck to track similar to the prototype.

·
Premium Member
4,235 Posts
Welcome:

I have an Accuaraft K-27 and a K-28. My problem was with the 28. I never had any problems with the 27. It took me two years of tweaking the track and the 28 before it would go around once. These are long locomotives and the radius of your track is a critical factor. Mine is 5' radius. the larger the better. You do not say what your radius is or where they derail. If the track is not level (across) they will ride up and over the rails. These engines require very good track work. The modification that I did to the 28 was to remove two of the three springs in each axle box. I left only the center spring. It is still stiff. These engines are a real contrast with the Bachmann K-27. The suspension system in these engines is fantastic. They appear to take on all my track bed can give out. I wish Accucraft had made their suspension system with springs that spring.

Your first effort will be to get your track work as level as possible. Then ;you may need to work on the engines.

Hope this helps.

Chuck N

·
Premium Member
394 Posts

·
Premium Member
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hello again,

Thanks for the help.