G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to the Hobby but sort- a-know what I want. I cant seem to sort through the facts so I can take care of the issue. I want to purchase the Aristocraft Mikado Steam Engine and I want want it to be total RC no power to the tracks. I want all the sounds (bell, horn, chuff, steam sounds, etc). Theres nothing like listening to and watching a steam engine coming to life and working. I would like it to be as realistic as possible. I have heard and read some about the Train Engineer Revolution. That may be a little out there because I dont plan on controling or owning 100 Locos at once. Long yammer short is there anyone out there that can tell me exactly what I need (xmtr, rcvr, sound board, cables, batteries, etc). Part numbers would be great. Also I dont want to have to hock the house to do this. Money is an object here. Any help to sort through this will be greatly appreciated. THANKS

·
Super Modulator
21,036 Posts
The Revolution Train engineer is not delivered, but if you want to use one, you will have to not only purchase the transmitter and receiver, but an additional sound card.

If you like realism, then you will want to consider a sound card that changes the locomotive sounds based on the actual load on the locomotive. Since this is an Aristo loco, it also has a convenient socket. The only sound unit that does this and fits the socket and works totally RC is the QSI with the Gwire addition, and using an AirWire transmitter.

This is a great combination and is proven to work well.

Money is an object? This is not real expensive, but it's not cheap. Go cheap and you give up quality. Don't do it.

Regards, Greg

·
Premium Member
2,910 Posts