G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
greetings all - i am very excited to have found this forum ... i am just beginning my foray into the world of g model railroading and i can tell i am 'hooked' already!

i have plans to do a very simple initial inddor layout (as a compliment backdrop / addition for a large collection of vintage 1/32 slot cars and slot car track diorama)

I have done some initial research and can see that options appear to be usa trains or aristocraft at approx 1:29, and mth trains for 1/32.

i am in vancouver bc canada - and the only real choice for purchasing locally seems to be a store called Art Knapp - specializing in garden trains.

I went and had a look - i picked up a section of 3' usa trains track and a nice usa auto carrier car -

question #1 - can someone please give me what the real world dimensions (length, height and width) of one of the usa double decker auto carrier cars would have been? i have searched the internet for the dims, or plans, or even vintage photos but have turned up nothing - when i place my slot cars on the carrier they look fantastic ... height seems right, at store they told me this car wasn't as long as it should be, AND to me the width of the carrier appears a fair bit too wide??? (i am an architect by profession and so try to stay reasonably close to scale - more just curious if the older carriers, not sure what year this usa one would have been on the rails, were a bit wider than some of the newer carriers?) any info much appreciated - i plan to buy several of these to haul my car collection around on - and am considering if i should pull out the hack saw and try to narrow them, if in fact they are too wide?