G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Premium Member
467 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guy's,

The better half said if you want a K 27 get it, If I do it will be battery r/c. As I have no experience with battery or r/c I thought it wise to ask those of you that do use r/c, which you prefer RCS or Airwire. I have checked both of the MLS battery forum's and it seems to me there are more issues with airwire than rcs. 
  I'm not trying to start a royal battle over which system is better or best but  to hear some opinions pro and con of users of both products.
  I intend to run steam  locos from 1875 to 1910  maybe a double header now and then.
  Thanks in advance for any help.
  chuckger

·
Master of Disaster
867 Posts
I will not comment on the RCS as I have a couple of units....but what I will say is I have 8 Airwire decoders and 2 T9000 hand helds.

The only thing that can be considered a problem with the Airwire, is in the evening the train will occasionally momenterily stop then start againl    for me that is not a problem!
Just change frequency that should help....you have 7 to choose from.

Al at CVP is suppose to be comming out with a unit that will be able to handle up to 24 volts, I think it is 24 volts without having to split the power and use a 12 volt regulater for the DCC side.

So for my needs I will always use the Airwire board, BUT the RCS and the Aristo TE are a viable form of R/C control.

I can select any engine and control it with out changing anything except the loco #...the hand held is very user friendly!

I am not bashing any brand as they are suited for various needs, and likes and disslikes..BUT i really like the Airwire.

Bubba 

·
Premium Member
658 Posts
Great answer Bubba. I have never had the interferrance problem with the AirWire but I do agtree with your other comments. AirWire is nto the cheapest way to go but I think it is the most flexable and one of the easiest to install.

·
Registered
1,033 Posts