G Scale Model Train Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1,742 Posts
They did away with my position as of end of Nov 08, and told me I could telemarket from my home for straight commission, now I'm considered under-employed by the heavenly fathers who are at the helm of the Govt. here in the corncob state!! l The Regal so now I play with trains more often than I used too. Hee Hee

·
Premium Member
627 Posts
In Australia it is starting to happen here.

Some people in the company I work for have been made redundant; money has been pulled out of projects, therefore reduced work for engineering companies.

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I was a truck driver for a pile driveing company. Had a feeling my job would be 1 to get cut. Seeing as how my job didn't make them any money it saved them some though. Guess not enough.

·
Premium Member
1,696 Posts
My son and 5 other of the highest-paid machinists were all 'fired' on the same day. The reason they did was so the company didn't have to pay unemployment benefits. This was in November. He'd worked there five years while the others had worked there much longer.

There was a recourse in contesting the 'firing', but since he's single he shrugged it off. He finally got hired a month ago in a foundry in the QA dept.

Me? I got my very first retirement check yesterday. I was sweating it because Boeing took over from Mac and took the 16 billion dollar trust fund Mr. Mac had set up for his employees. I don't know how they broke the trust fund, but I'm sure as I sit here typing it was illegal.

I feel this country is going to **** in a handbasket. There is no honesty anywhere.

Les

·
Registered
197 Posts
I deal with this daily. I don't see it ending anytime soon.

Statistically, when an employye is discharged, unemployment insurance benefits are awarded 85% of the time. It is the employer's burden to prove the employee's actions were a willful and wanton disregard of the employer's interests.