G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everyone! I'm new to G scale railroading, but not the hobby. i have a HO scale train set and im happy with it. But when the wife wanted a new garden out in the front yard, i said to myself, I want a garden railroad. so we designed and built the garden so i can run tracks through it. Im also a MOW worker for BNSF. (my job is my hobby!).

For my garden layout I've decided to build the tracks like i build track in real life. Im gonna use cedar ties, micro engineering tie plates for code 332 (they look more prototypical with 4 holes). Plus i plan on running my locomotive from battery and the crest trainmaster remote control.

So my questions are... Does anyone make rail bars like the joint bars used on the tracks?
Who has the best deal on Code 332 track? I'm leaning towards aluminum (mainly because of cost)
Is there scale blueprints for scratch building turnouts and 3 ways? i want to hand build pretty much everything for this layout.

any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance

·
Registered
3,549 Posts
Well..................

From one track layer...to 'nuther.....

Wye ..hehe..not using code 250 Al. rail...?

Cedar or Redwood ties...ah but wait..what is your clime like??
Off the ground or raised...

Geez ...Chuck ..- we need a intro paper for these neBee's to read first..so you n I and the rest of the 'ol timers here don't have to keep writen the same words over all the time.....

Anyways,..welcome to your new home "M&P" ..ok your name goes here....

Try using brass rod..ends flattened and drill holes fer them bars ya wants!!! I do that on my turnouts...

I know there'll be "more" ?'s..but this'll get ya off an running..... for now..

Man...he's thinking now!!! Just wait till ya lay 'wake at nite..dreamin...

Dirk - DMS Ry. ( Home to #14 Turnouts on the mains )( your the 2nd BNSF'r here I know off... )

·
Registered
1,060 Posts
Welcome!