G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Premium Member
991 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a newbie, I am doing my fair share of homework:

Greg, your site is a godsend. thank you for sharing your knowledge. What manufacturer of track is now my biggest question... need to do homework.

Now, I hear comments on "bashing" or kit-bashing" and have a vague understand of the concept. From a layperson perspective I visualize taking a $600 "Mallet" and bashing up a $30 "car".

Are all these parts interchangeable once the "crushed" parts are glued back togther?

What fun... strange trains? Frankenstein?

gg

·
Super Modulator
20,517 Posts
RE: Gregs website and questions on "Bashing"

Hmm....

Track power or battery power is first question.

Will there be people or animals walking on the track on occasion, or very rare?

Those 2 questions will help narrow the choice down.

Regards, Greg

p.s. Did you read my track page and the beginners faq on this?

FAQ:http://www.elmassian.com/trains-mainmenu-27/beginners-faqs-mainmenu-49/track-choice-mainmenu-50

More detailed: [url]http://www.elmassian.com/trains-mainmenu-27/track-mainmenu-93/track-aamp-rail-material-mainmenu-94[/url]
http://www.elmassian.com/trains-mainmenu-27/track-mainmenu-93/track-aamp-rail-material-mainmenu-94
comments/corrections/criticism appreciated....

·
Registered
1,167 Posts

Yes, kitbashing is much fun though I have hear it used for everything from a simple repaint to full blown Frankencritters.

Some of my bashed stuff - a Dunkirk geared steamer from Bachmann gondola, Big Hauler cab and shay trucks with a bashed bobber caboose, a boxcab diesel from an Aristo track cleaning car and some 7/8's scale critters from a Bachmann 45 tonner diesel with scratch parts and a diecast construction tractor-

-Brian

·
Premium Member
2,910 Posts
I'm a a total newb at this stuff but I've managed a couple kitbashes--this is the most elaborate

http://www.mylargescale.com/1stclass/lownote/b-06.jpg