G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello, my name is Mike and i love trains, i started when i was very young with wooden railways then moved to HO then O guage and over the years i have sold everything as a loss of intrest, no space and no time ... now as i am married and out of my teenage years and have my own house i want to start with G scale and make my backyard a beatiful layout, the wife is all for it too so i have great support there, i guess as long as she can plant her flowers and plans and all that womanly stuff haha ... i am a soldier in the US army and am in iraq but after my 15 months i will be coming home and thank god thats in 2 months for me! ... i am from NY/NJ but am stationed in Hawaii for another year or so then who knows but i dont miind building up and tearing down a layout in the yard, im still young and eager, i have many hobbies and this 1 has always lurked in the back of my mind and now with support id love to make it a reality ... yes i have 0 knolage on garden/ outdoor railways and i have no idea where to start but i am willing to start right now all i need it some help and to be guided in the right direction, i guess you can say im the N00B of N00Bs ha ... well thats my small bio and im very happy to have found this forum and look forward to many years of activity here

---michael

·
Premium Member
1,976 Posts
Mike,

Ditto Dwight's comments. Thanks for all you guys are doing.

As for the large scale trains, this is about as good a place to find out everything, good and bad!! I'm on the younger side of this hobby, like you, even at 31!! I've seen a couple guys posting from Hawaii, too so you might have a couple guys out there who can help. My sister and her husband are about to relocate to Pearl Harbor. He's in the Navy and will be an officer on one of the fleet out there.

Good luck and welcome to MLS!

Mark

·
Premium Member
1,704 Posts
Welcome to MLS Michael!