G Scale Model Train Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,235 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This afternoon we had to move the cattle down to lower elevations with a stock extra. The stock extra got held up for a coal drag that was bringing winter warmth to the towns along the rails.

Chuck

·
Registered
1,742 Posts
I got ready here today in the LOW country!! LOL Regal

Cold and some snow predicted here for Monday night into Tuesday

·
Premium Member
4,235 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Matt and Regal:

Thanks for the positives. Sometimes it is fun to recreate something that I have seen in my books.

Chuck

I realize that the coal train isn't quite correct. The Bachmann 2-bay hoppers were never on the D&RGW. Perhaps that is why they don't have numbers on them.

Living here in Virginia, I can run the trains through the winter season.

·
Premium Member
4,235 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Randy

I'm a retired geologist. Sooo, I'm kind of partial to trains hauling something that came out of the ground. Hence, my coal drag here and my 32 car iron ore train in 1:29.

Stan:

Winter is when the "rattle worms" disappear!

Cheers,

Chuck

·
Premium Member
595 Posts
Winter aint for sissies....

I've been thinking what I'm gonna do when the first flakes start to fly. I need to get a snow plow built.

·
Premium Member
6,042 Posts
Posted By Stan Cedarleaf on 23 Oct 2011 07:12 PM
What's Winter??????
Winter the day is when we have snow until noon on the ground.
Winter the season is when cars with Minnesota license plates show up.....

John

·
Registered
176 Posts
We spend a good portion of our year as winter. Even though officially winter starts Dec 21st, we typically have 30+ inches of snow by then. So I count winter the first day of snow fall till when it melts, sometime in April.

·
Premium Member
4,235 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Randy: